Interview to Ku Hye Sun by KBS for

TV MUSEUM

73480204

An immediate image comes to me when I think of Camille Claudel. It is very pretty and beautifully approachable.  During that period of history, women creating art were treated like criminals/sinners. Because she was an artist from such a time period, I was even more curious about her. 

 

(on  screen) An art work of  my heart: Camille Claudel’s “Pleading Woman”(actress GHS)

 Let us meet Camille Claudel.


From 2nd year middle school to just before entering college, I had an art teacher who made me draw one page every day.  The story of the life of Camille Claudel was one of many things that she told/taught me.  Recently, I saw her work even more attentively.

 

(On screen)  the statue of “Pleading Woman” by Camille Claudel, 1899.


Regardless of whether one is male or female, I interpreted it as an artist reaching for self completion..that is, an artist expressing thirst and earnest desire.  The woman (GHS is referring to the “Pleading Woman”) actually seems to represent Camille Claudel.  My thought is that perhaps she created that piece to express her own thirst and desires.  

 I also think that how the art piece is interpreted depends on the watcher/viewer.  If I am experiencing certain emotions at this time in my life, then I would interpret such emotions from the art.  For example, if I am going through a break-up, then I would feel the pain of separation when looking at the art piece. Right now in my own life, I have great thirst for art. That is why I think I interpreted Claudel’s art piece as an expression of thirst.

 

(on screen under Pleading Woman) Thirst and Desire for Art

 

The art piece does not only communicate emotions.  There is a sense of life in the piece as if it might move/come alive.  She made them all with her hands.  That is why I feel that the piece’s expressiveness is genius.  Even the texture of the piece is rough and ?chujuh?. When I was little, it was traumatic/shocking.  As I look at the piece, I would wonder what she was thinking when she created the piece.  She definitely had to have put herself into the art. So, what could they be?

 

(On screen) A pix of Camille Claudel (1864~1943)


I heard that she was extremely brave and that she was curious and interested in many things.  When she was alive, women at that time were thought to be whores if they did arts or were unconventional. Disregarding the strong societal norm of the time and still working on her art makes her very brave.

If you look at all of Claudel’s art pieces, you can see a common element . The women in her art portray sense or pose of tragedy. (laughter)  Overall, there are many pieces that express love between man and woman.  However, to me, they do not convey feelings of romance. Soon or immediately, I feel as it if will vanish or become extinct all together.  

People in her time described her works as lewd/obscene. Her works were badly criticized.  Critics admitted that her pieces were difficult poses but that they appeared indecent.  She was not treated with respect.

But, in reality, her works expressed so much freedom. Her works showed the freedom of not adhering to what others or the society said or pointed.  All her art pieces are like that.


(on screen) The fateful love of Rodin and Chlodel  (Pix of Rodin and Chlodel)

Rodin’s art using Chlodel as model

 Kiss (1889)

 Denied (1889)

Then, Good-bye

 Pleading Woman (1899)


I am just me.  I do not belong to anyone. I am just I am. Her pieces seem to symbolize that feeling.  On the surface, she (Pleading Woman) looks like a woman caught in a whirlwind of love. But if you look closely, she is merely expressing herself whom nobody cares about. I don’t think she had any goal to let someone know who she is. It is because that is who I am.

 

(GHS’s own music al composition playing)

(on screen) Movie Director

 And she challenged herself as an artist

(on screen; her paintings are shown) GHS: “Regret” (2006)

 GHS: “Dream” (2006)

 GHS:  “Loss” (2012)


It is not like there is any trauma about today’s prejudices about women.  But unfairness and inequality remain in some parts.  I have to say “thirst” does exist. I must take out my thoughts and act on them.  I need to take out my thoughts and express them and make something out of them. Those are shapes of me.  But if they stay as mere thoughts, then they will become extinct.  They will eventually disappear anyway and become extinct ,,,,I will eventually cease to exist..I think I had the desire to make something stay permanent and forever. If I take them out, I can make something that lasts forever.

 

Translation: by Cheerko – Soompi

 

 

Here the video :

 

https://kvanessach.wordpress.com/2012/08/17/video-120816-ku-hye-sun-part-at-kbs-tv-museum/

 

http://vanessa12.posterous.com/video-120816-ku-hye-sun-part-at-kbs-tv-museum